• Statistics
  • The Institut
  • Surveys

    Québec Health Survey of High School Students (QHSHSS)

    The Québec Health Survey of High School Students (QHSHSS) is carried out every six years by the Institut de la statistique du Québec on behalf of the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux (MSSS). Its objective is to collect data on the physical and mental health of high school students from all regions of the province, as well as on their lifestyle habits and social adjustment.

    These data help people who work with youth in schools and in the health and social services network to develop programs adapted to their needs and to propose actions that will support their well-being and help them journey through their teenage years.

    Participants

    Students

    Has your class been selected to participate in the QHSHSS? This means you are one of the 70,000 students who will be taking part in the survey!

    Someone from the Institut will visit you in class so you can complete a 30-minute questionnaire on a tablet computer. The questions will cover various topics: mental health, physical activity, sleep, nicotine and alcohol use, and many more. What will your answers be used for? Have a look at some of the results from QHSHSS 2016–2017 to learn more.

    All your answers will be kept confidential, meaning that no one will know what answers any student in particular has given. To learn more about this, visit the page “Confidentiality and the protection of personal information.”

    Your questionnaires will not be identified, and all of your answers will be kept confidential, meaning that no one will know who answered the questionnaires. The MSSS will receive the data collected, except for certain information that could identify students (e.g., postal codes). The data will only be used for statistical purposes. To learn more about confidentiality, visit the page Confidentiality and the protection of personal information.

    Participation is voluntary. You or your parents can decide that you will not take part in the survey.

    Once you have completed the QHSHSS questionnaire, we invite you to take part in the Study on the Experiences of Youth in Sports in Québec.

    Schools

    School principals

    The Institut selects schools at random from both the French- and English-language networks, taking into account their size and composition. Within these schools, classes are in turn randomly selected from the list of English or French classes, depending on the school’s primary language of instruction.

    The principals of the selected schools must designate a contact person who will assist the Institut in selecting classes, making appointments and visiting classes on the day of data collection.

    The participation of schools is mandatory under the Act respecting the Institut de la statistique du Québec

    Teachers

    At least one week before the Institut’s visit to the classroom, teachers will receive materials for parents to be handed out to all students.

    At the time of the visit, the teachers should stay in the classroom while the students complete the questionnaire. However, they must not walk around the classroom to ensure that the students’ answers remain confidential. Teachers are responsible for their class at all times and must ensure discipline.

    Data collection

    July 2022

    School service centres, school boards and private schools are informed in writing about the QHSHSS and receive information documents.

    The Institut tests the survey questions and data collection process with students in a few classes at each grade level.

    September 2022

    The Institut writes to the selected schools and provide them with information documents.

    October 2022

    The Institut begins calling the principals of the selected schools. Each principal must designate a contact person who will assist the Institut in collecting the data.

    November 2022 to May 2023

    At the time agreed upon with the contact person, the Institut’s interviewers visits the selected classes so that the students can complete the computerized questionnaire. The students answer the survey on a tablet computer that is independent from the school’s computer network. All the necessary equipment is provided by the Institut. Parents and teachers will receive information on how the visit will unfold.

    To contact the QHSHSS team

    eqsjs-qhshss@stat.gouv.qc.ca

    1-800-561-0213

    The QHSHSS

    QHSHSS 2022–2023 is the third edition of the survey. The last time, in 2016–2017, 62,277 students from 465 schools participated.

    A few findings

    In 2016–2017:

    • 14% of youth never ate breakfast on school mornings: 16% of girls and 12% of boys.
    • 19% of students drank one regular or diet sweetened beverage or ate snacks or sweets every day.
    • 72% thought their health was excellent or very good, 23% that it was good, and 4.3% that it was fair or poor.
    • 68% found their friends to be highly supportive, girls (76%) more than boys (61%).
    • 6% of students reported having experienced cyberbullying since the start of the school year, girls (9%) more than boys (3.5%).
    • 32% of boys and 45% of girls reported having a high level of parental supervision.
    • 63% of young people slept the recommended number of hours during the school week, 34% slept fewer hours, and 3.3% slept more hours. The recommended number of hours of sleep ranges from 9 to 11 hours for those aged 6–13, and from 8 to 10 hours for those aged 14–17.

    What will we learn from the QHSHSS 2022–2023 results? Until they are released in the fall of 2024, visit the page Québec Health Survey of High School Students 2016–2017 to see the full results from the last edition of the survey.

    Objectives

    Provide a picture of high school students' physical and mental health, lifestyle habits, and social adjustment.

    Facilitate the study of the relationship between students’ health or lifestyle habits and their individual characteristics.

    Monitor changes in the youth health and its determinants.

    Ethics

    The survey was examined by an ethics committee responsible for safeguarding the respect, dignity and integrity of those participating or included in our surveys.

    Research

    Researchers who would like to use QHSHSS data as part of a research project can request access through the Institut de la statistique du Québec’s Research Data Access Services.

    Collaborators

    The survey, questionnaire and indicators were developed in collaboration with the project steering committee co-chaired by the Institut and the MSSS, which included representatives from the regional public health directorates, the national public health roundtables, the Institut national de santé publique du Québec, and the Ministère de l’Éducation et de l’Enseignement supérieur.

• Statistiques
  • L'Institut
  • Enquêtes

    L'Enquête québécoise sur la santé des jeunes du secondaire (EQSJS)

    L’Enquête québécoise sur la santé des jeunes du secondaire (EQSJS) est réalisée tous les 6 ans par l’Institut de la statistique du Québec à la demande du ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux (MSSS). Elle sert à recueillir des données sur l’état de santé physique et mentale des jeunes du secondaire de toutes les régions du Québec, ainsi que sur leurs habitudes de vie et leur adaptation sociale.

    Ces données aident les personnes qui travaillent auprès des jeunes, comme les intervenants dans les écoles et les responsables jeunesse en santé et services sociaux, à créer des programmes adaptés à leurs besoins et à proposer des actions qui les aideront dans leur cheminement et favoriseront leur bien-être.

    Participants

    Jeunes

    Votre classe a été sélectionnée pour participer à l’EQSJS? Vous faites donc partie des quelque 70 000 jeunes du Québec qui y participeront!

    Une personne de l’Institut ira vous visiter en classe pour vous faire remplir un questionnaire d’une trentaine de minutes sur une tablette électronique. Les questions traiteront de différents sujets : la santé mentale, l’activité physique, le sommeil, la nicotine et l’alcool, et bien d’autres. À quoi vos réponses serviront-elles? Jetez un œil à quelques résultats de l’EQSJS 2016-2017 pour en savoir plus.

    Vos questionnaires ne seront pas identifiés, et toutes vos réponses seront gardées confidentielles, c’est-à-dire que personne ne pourra savoir qui a répondu aux questionnaires. Le MSSS recevra les données recueillies, à l’exception de certaines informations qui pourraient permettre d’identifier un élève (p. ex. code postal). Les données ne serviront qu’à des fins statistiques. Pour en savoir plus sur la confidentialité, visitez la page Confidentialité et protection des renseignements personnels.

    La participation est volontaire. Vos parents ou vous pouvez décider de ne pas participer à cette étude.

    Après que vous aurez rempli le questionnaire de l’EQSJS, nous vous inviterons à participer à l’Étude sur le vécu des adolescents dans les milieux sportifs au Québec.

    Écoles

    Directions

    L’Institut sélectionne des écoles de façon aléatoire, autant dans le réseau francophone que dans le réseau anglophone, en tenant compte de leur taille et de leur composition. Ensuite, dans ces écoles, des classes sont à leur tour sélectionnées au hasard parmi la liste des classes de français ou anglais, selon la langue principale d’enseignement de l’école.

    La direction d’une école sélectionnée doit désigner une personne-ressource qui pourra accompagner l’Institut dans la sélection des classes, la prise de rendez-vous et la visite des classes le jour de la collecte des données.

    La participation des écoles est obligatoire, conformément à la Loi sur l’Institut de la statistique du Québec.

    Enseignants

    Au moins une semaine avant la visite de l’Institut dans la classe, l’enseignante ou l’enseignant recevra de la documentation destinée aux parents qui devra être remise à tous les élèves.

    Au moment de la visite, l’enseignante ou l’enseignant devra rester en classe pendant que les élèves remplissent le questionnaire; toutefois, il ou elle ne devra pas circuler dans la classe pour que la confidentialité des réponses des jeunes soit préservée. En tout temps, l’enseignante ou l’enseignant est responsable de la classe et doit assurer la discipline.

    Pour communiquer avec l’équipe de l’EQSJS

    eqsjs-qhshss@stat.gouv.qc.ca

    1 800 561-0213

    Déroulement de la collecte

    Juillet 2022

    Les centres de services scolaires et le réseau d’écoles privées sont informés par écrit de la tenue de l’EQSJS et reçoivent des documents d’information.

    L’Institut teste les questions et le processus de collecte auprès de jeunes de quelques classes de chaque niveau.

    Septembre 2022

    L’Institut communique par écrit avec les écoles sélectionnées et leur fournit des documents d’information.

    Octobre 2022

    L’Institut commence les appels pour prendre contact avec les directions des écoles sélectionnées. Chaque direction désigne une personne-ressource qui accompagnera l’Institut dans la collecte des données.

    Novembre 2022 à mai 2023

    Au moment convenu avec la personne-ressource, les intervieweurs de l’Institut se rendent dans les classes sélectionnées pour faire remplir le questionnaire informatisé aux élèves. Les élèves répondent sur une tablette électronique complètement indépendante du réseau informatique de l’école. Tout l’équipement nécessaire est fourni par l’Institut. Les parents et les enseignants recevront de l’information sur le déroulement de la visite.

    L’EQSJS

    L’EQSJS 2022-2023 est la troisième édition de l’enquête. La dernière fois, en 2016-2017, 62 277 élèves de 465 écoles différentes y avaient participé.

    Quelques résultats

    En 2016-2017 :

    • 14 % des jeunes ne déjeunaient jamais les matins d’école; 16 % des filles et 12 % des garçons;
    • 19 % des jeunes consommaient une boisson sucrée régulière ou diète, des grignotines ou des sucreries chaque jour;
    • 72 % trouvaient que leur santé était excellente ou très bonne, 23 % qu’elle était bonne et 4,3 % qu’elle était passable ou mauvaise;
    • 68 % trouvaient que leurs amis leur offraient un soutien social élevé; les filles (76 %) plus que les garçons (61 %);
    • 6 % des jeunes disaient avoir été victimes de cyberintimidation depuis le début de l’année scolaire; les filles (9 %) plus que les garçons (3,5 %);
    • 32 % des garçons et 45 % des filles disaient avoir un niveau élevé de supervision parentale;
    • 63 % des jeunes dormaient le nombre d’heures recommandé pendant une semaine d’école, 34 % dormaient moins et 3,3 % dormaient plus. Le nombre d’heures de sommeil recommandé varie entre 9 et 11 heures pour les 6-13 ans, et entre 8 et 10 heures pour les 14-17 ans.

    Que nous diront les résultats de l’EQSJS 2022-2023? En attendant leur diffusion à l’automne 2024, visitez la page Enquête québécoise sur la santé des jeunes du secondaire, 2016-2017 pour connaître tous les résultats de la dernière édition.

    Objectifs

    Dresser un portrait de l’état de santé physique et mentale des jeunes du secondaire, de leurs habitudes de vie et de leur adaptation sociale.

    Faciliter l’étude des liens entre leur état de santé ou leurs habitudes de vie et leurs caractéristiques individuelles.

    Suivre l’évolution de l’état de santé des jeunes et de ses déterminants.

    Encadrement éthique

    L’enquête a été examinée par un comité d’éthique dont la responsabilité est de s’assurer que les personnes visées par les études et celles qui y participent sont respectées, que leur dignité est préservée et que leur intégrité est protégée.

    Recherche

    Les chercheuses et chercheurs souhaitant exploiter les données de l’EQSJS dans le cadre d’un projet de recherche peuvent s’adresser aux Services d’accès aux données de recherche de l’Institut de la statistique du Québec.

    Collaborateurs

    L’élaboration de l’enquête, du questionnaire et des indicateurs a été faite en collaboration avec le comité d’orientation de projet coprésidé par l’Institut et le MSSS, auquel participaient des représentants des directions régionales de santé publique, des tables de concertation nationale en santé publique, de l’Institut national de santé publique du Québec et du ministère de l’Éducation et de l’Enseignement supérieur.