All press releases

    Québec’s international merchandise exports down in September 2023

    Québec, November 21, 2023. – Québec’s international merchandise exports, seasonally adjusted and in constant dollars, were down 0.9% in September 2023 from the previous month. This finding comes from an analysis of the most recent data on Québec’s international merchandise trade released today by the Institut de la statistique du Québec.

    The products that contributed the most to this monthly decrease were iron ores and concentrates (-32.4%), pharmaceutical and medicinal products (-37.4%), heavy fuel oils (-52.8%), and unwrought copper and copper alloys (-30.8%).

    Some of the products whose exports increased in September include commercial and service industry machinery and equipment (+54.7%), other metal ores and concentrates not elsewhere classified (+88.7%), unwrought aluminum and aluminum alloys (+6.1%), and basic and semi-finished products of non-ferrous metals and non-ferrous metal alloys (except gold, silver, platinum group metals and aluminum) (+32.9%).

    Exports in the first nine months of 2023 were up 2.0% compared with the same months of 2022.

    Québec’s international merchandise imports down in September 2023

    Québec’s international merchandise imports, seasonally adjusted and in constant dollars, were down 6.4% in September from August 2023.

    The products that contributed the most to the decrease in imports were conventional crude oil (-34.5%), unwrought gold, silver, and platinum group metals and their alloys (-75.1%), aircraft (-94.4%), and aircraft parts and other aerospace equipment (-10.4%).

    In contrast, imports of certain products were up in September. This was the case for light-duty trucks, vans and sport utility vehicles (+8.6%), basic and semi-finished products of non-ferrous metals and non-ferrous metal alloys (except gold, silver, platinum group metals and aluminum) (+60.9%), sugar and sugar mill by-products (+74.3%), and unwrought copper and copper alloys (+73.4%).

    Imports in the first nine months of 2023 were down 1.3% compared with the same months of 2022.

    The situation in Canada

    According to data published by Statistics Canada on November 7, 2023, Canada’s seasonally adjusted merchandise exports in constant dollars increased by 0.3% in September 2023 from the previous month. Meanwhile, imports were up 1.4%.

    For the first nine months of 2023, Canada’s merchandise exports were up 5.8% compared with the same months of 2022, while imports decreased by 1.1%.

    International merchandise exports and imports1 (percentage change)


      2022   2023
     
     
      Annual change   Monthly change2 Cumulative change 2,3
         
     
          August September  

    Québec
    Exports 4.1   – 4.5 – 0.9 2.0
    Imports 5.7   5.4 – 6.4 – 1.3
     
    Canada
    Exports 1.6   0.7 0.3 5.8
    Imports 6.8   0.6 1.4 – 1.1

    1. In constant dollars, at 2012 pieces.
    2. Seasonally adjusted data.
    3. First nine months of 2023 compared with the same period in 2022.
    Sources : Institut de la statistique du Québec and Statistics Canada.

    Useful links

    International trade – Monthly data

    International Trade Data Online: A tool for generating customized reports

    Next release: December 19, 2023


    The Institut de la statistique du Québec produces, analyzes and disseminates official, objective and quality statistical information on various aspects of Québec society. It is responsible for conducting all statistical surveys of general interest. The relevance of its work makes it a strategic ally for decision makers and all those wishing to learn more about Québec.

    Media relations
    Information and Documentation Centre

    Phone: 418-691-2401
    or 1-800-463-4090 (toll-free in Canada and the United States)
    E-mail: cid@stat.gouv.qc.ca

    Comments
    Was the information on this page useful to you?

Tous les communiqués

    Baisse des exportations internationales de marchandises du Québec en septembre 2023

    Québec, le 21 novembre 2023. – Les exportations internationales de marchandises du Québec, désaisonnalisées et en dollars constants, ont baissé de 0,9 % en septembre 2023 par rapport au mois précédent. C’est ce qui ressort de l’analyse des plus récentes données sur le commerce international de marchandises du Québec, diffusées aujourd’hui par l’Institut de la statistique du Québec.

    Les produits ayant le plus contribué à cette baisse mensuelle sont les minerais et concentrés de fer (– 32,4 %), les produits pharmaceutiques et médicinaux (– 37,4 %), le mazout lourd (– 52,8 %), ainsi que le cuivre et les alliages de cuivre sous forme brute (– 30,8 %).

    Parmi les produits dont les exportations ont augmenté en septembre, on trouve notamment les machines et le matériel pour le commerce et les industries de services (+ 54,7 %), les autres minerais et concentrés de métaux non classés ailleurs (+ 88,7 %), l’aluminium et les alliages d’aluminium sous forme brute (+ 6,1 %), ainsi que les formes primaires et les produits semi-ouvrés de métaux non ferreux et d’alliages de métaux non ferreux (sauf d’or, d’argent, de métaux du groupe du platine et d’aluminium) (+ 32,9 %).

    Les exportations des neuf premiers mois de 2023 ont augmenté de 2,0 % par rapport aux mêmes mois de 2022.

    Baisse des importations internationales de marchandises du Québec en septembre 2023

    Les importations internationales de marchandises du Québec, désaisonnalisées et en dollars constants, ont baissé de 6,4 % en septembre par rapport à août 2023.

    Les produits ayant le plus contribué à la baisse de ces importations sont le pétrole brut classique (– 34,5 %), l’or, l’argent, les métaux du groupe du platine sous forme brute et leurs alliages (– 75,1 %), les aéronefs (– 94,4 %), ainsi que les pièces pour aéronefs et autre matériel aérospatial (– 10,4 %).

    En revanche, les importations de certains produits ont augmenté en septembre. C’est notamment le cas pour les camions légers, les fourgonnettes et les véhicules utilitaires sport (+ 8,6 %), les formes primaires et les produits semi-ouvrés de métaux non ferreux et d’alliages de métaux non ferreux (sauf d’or, d’argent, de métaux du groupe du platine et d’aluminium) (+ 60,9 %), le sucre et les sous-produits de raffinage du sucre (+ 74,3 %), ainsi que le cuivre et les alliages de cuivre sous forme brute (+ 73,4 %).

    Les importations des neuf premiers mois de 2023 ont baissé de 1,3 % par rapport à celles des mêmes mois de 2022.

    La situation au Canada

    Selon les informations publiées par Statistique Canada le 7 novembre 2023, les exportations canadiennes de marchandises, désaisonnalisées et en dollars constants, ont augmenté de 0,3 % en septembre 2023 par rapport au mois précédent. Les importations ont quant à elles augmenté de 1,4 %.

    Pour les neuf premiers mois de 2023, les exportations de marchandises du Canada ont augmenté de 5,8 % par rapport aux mêmes mois de 2022, tandis que les importations ont baissé de 1,1 %.

    Exportations et importations internationales de marchandises1 (variations en pourcentage)


      2022   2023
     
     
      Variation annuelle   Variation mensuelle2 Variation cumulative2,3
         
     
          Août Septembre  

    Québec
    Exportations 4,1   – 4,5 – 0,9 2,0
    Importations 5,7   5,6 – 6,4 – 1,3
     
    Canada
    Exportations 1,6   0,7 0,3 5,8
    Importations 6,8   0,6 1,4 – 1,1

    1. En dollars constants, aux prix de 2012.
    2. Données désaisonnalisées.
    3. Les neuf premiers mois de 2023 par rapport aux mêmes mois de 2022.
    Sources : Institut de la statistique du Québec et Statistique Canada.

    Liens utiles

    Commerce international – Données mensuelles

    Commerce international en ligne : Outil permettant de produire des rapports sur mesure

    Prochaine diffusion : 19 décembre 2023


    L’Institut de la statistique du Québec produit, analyse et diffuse des informations statistiques officielles, objectives et de qualité sur différents aspects de la société québécoise. Il est le responsable de la réalisation de toutes les enquêtes statistiques d’intérêt général. La pertinence de ses travaux en fait un allié stratégique pour les décideurs et tous ceux qui désirent en connaître davantage sur le Québec.

     

    Relations avec les médias
    Centre d'information et de documentation

    Tél. : 418 691-2401
    ou 1 800 463-4090 (sans frais d'appel au Canada et aux États-Unis)
    Courriel : cid@stat.gouv.qc.ca

    Évaluation de page
    L'information sur cette page vous a-t-elle été utile?