• Statistics
  • The Institut
  • Surveys

    How is labour force participation evolving during the pandemic in Québec and elsewhere in Canada?

    What does the labour market look like in Québec and elsewhere in Canada compared to what it was before the pandemic? The following analyses include graphs and tables on the evolution of labour force participation during the pandemic across the country. The situation in the fourth quarter of 2020 (October to December) is compared with that in the last quarter of 2019 (October to December), a few months before the various provinces declared a health emergency. A quick look at the evolution of labour force participation between the third and fourth quarters of 2020 is also presented to put things in context.

    The situation in Québec is compared to that in the other provinces. The Prairie and Atlantic provinces are grouped together for analytical purposes, but data by province are available in the detailed tables. Results are presented:

    • for the total population aged 15 and over;
    • by sex; and
    • for three age groups: 15-24 years, 25-54 years, and 55 years and over.

    The topics covered by the analyses include the number of people employed in the fourth quarter of 2020 compared to the fourth quarter of 2019. This ratio is represented as a percentage. The results show where not only overall employment, but also full-time and part-time employment stand. An analysis of unemployment rates completes the picture, and their evolution is put into perspective with that of the non-working population for the various population groups under study.

• Statistiques
  • L'Institut
  • Enquêtes

    Comment évolue la participation au marché du travail en temps de pandémie au Québec et ailleurs au Canada?

    À quoi ressemble le marché du travail au Québec et ailleurs au Canada par rapport à ce qu’il était avant la pandémie? Voici des analyses comprenant graphiques et tableaux qui portent sur l’évolution de la participation au marché du travail en temps de pandémie dans l’ensemble du pays. La situation au quatrième trimestre de 2020 (octobre à décembre) est comparée avec celle au dernier trimestre de 2019 (octobre à décembre), soit quelques mois avant que les différentes provinces ne décrètent l’état d’urgence sanitaire. Un regard rapide sur l’évolution de la participation au marché du travail entre le troisième et le quatrième trimestre de 2020 est aussi présenté pour une mise en contexte.

    La situation du Québec est comparée à celle des autres provinces. Celles des Prairies et de l’Atlantique ont été regroupées pour l’analyse, mais les données par province sont disponibles dans les tableaux détaillés. Les résultats sont présentés :

    • pour l’ensemble de la population âgée de 15 ans et plus;
    • selon le sexe;
    • selon trois groupes d’âge : 15-24 ans, 25-54 ans et 55 ans et plus.

    Les analyses portent entre autres sur le nombre de personnes en emploi au cours du quatrième trimestre de 2020 par rapport à celui lors du trimestre correspondant de 2019. Ce ratio est représenté en pourcentage. Les résultats permettent de voir où se situent non seulement l’emploi dans son ensemble, mais également l’emploi à temps plein et à temps partiel. L’analyse des taux de chômage complète le portrait, et leur évolution est mise en perspective avec celle de la population inactive pour les différents groupes populationnels à l’étude.